in Techspeak

The evolution of MIPS CPUs

Inspired by a question I saw on reddit earlier today, I decided to repurpose some slides initially created for a press briefing earlier this month.


The images below show you how the three individual MIPS CPU families (i.e. microarchitectures) evolved over time, starting with the Classic lineup released in the early 2000s all the way to the Warrior generation introduced in 2013.

The evolution of MIPS CPUs - P-class
The evolution of MIPS CPUs - I-class _f
The evolution of MIPS CPUs - M-class

MIPS architecture

When it comes to the MIPS architecture, the two diagrams below offer you a quick visual interpretation of its history. The 32-bit strain started in 1985 with MIPS I, which gradually morphed into what is now known as MIPS32.

On the 64-bit side, MIPS III was announced in 1991 as the first licensable 64-bit RISC architecture to ship in a commercial product; over time, MIPS III grew into the MIPS64 ISA.

MIPS architecture - history(2)Since 2002, MIPS32 and MIPS64 have remained the default 32- and 64-bit architectures, experiencing multiple releases.

MIPS architecture - history(1)

You can read more about the evolution of the MIPS architecture here and here.